10 Years, 10 Questions

[A/N: this is based on the super awesome project The Godmother has started over on her blog, which was the perfect opportunity for me to tackle the writer’s block I’ve been battling recently–current players, ex-players, noobs, veterans, casuals–whatever your style, you’re welcome to participate. The more the merrier! Check out her blog for details, and general read-age, because she’s an amazing writer and has been a huge inspiration for my own blogging :D]

 

1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?

Short version: I caved in to peer pressure.

Long version? A friend of mine at the time knew I was interested in MMOs (I was playing Guild Wars at the time, way back in 2006 or so?), and he mentioned I might like WoW. I was on the fence about it, mainly because it was a subscription-based game and I didn’t have any income at the time. I kinda sorta gave in when Christmas rolled around that year, and I found it for $20 at Gamestop xD He was kind enough to gift me with a few months game-time beyond my initial free month–and the rest they say, is history.

 

2. What was the first ever character you rolled?

I can’t recall her name (it was something nonsensical, that much I know), but it was a wee human mage on Alleria-US.

 

3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?

For the most part, it’s the close friends I play with. Initially I rolled Alliance because my friend (the one who got me into WoW in the first place) was Alliance, and it was far easier for me to go play where he was–he was able to help me figure the game out, get me into his guild on Alleria, etc. When I rerolled on EU servers with my then-boyfriend (who’s now my husband :D), he was quite keen to roll an orc (and later an undead), so I went Horde to play with him (and let it be stated for the record, that us playing WoW together was vital to the survival of our 3 year long-distance relationship). Nowadays, I stick mainly with Horde because that’s where I’ve invested so much of my time and effort, and Alliance is just side projects/faffing about, really.

 

4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?

I’m going to cheat a little, and give two moments, because I just can’t choose between them xD

1.) The first time I ever logged into the game–EVER. I’ll never forget the sheer amazement and sense of awe I felt when I zoned into Elwynn Forest on a tiny level one mage. I remember standing in Northshire Abbey, trying desperately to take in everything around me–NPCs, other players, those scary ‘yellow’ wolves (who I was convinced were going to attack me). I didn’t even know how to use chat, I was that big of a nooblet. It was a brief moment of time when I had no idea what I was getting myself into, with no real concept of just how immense this world I had entered really was. I’ll never be able to recreate that moment (at least not in WoW; I do get that in other MMOs when I first play them).

2.) The time I spend raiding ICC with my guild during WoTLK. This was before the advent of LFR, back when I was in a proper guild (some of my best gaming days were with these people, before they abandoned the game during Cata). I can distinctly remember how much fun I had running with these folks, who were friendly and chatty and helpful, and how welcome I felt coming along on their 25 man ICC runs. I saw some amazing content that at the time, I wouldn’t have otherwise seen; I made some amazing friends during those months, and I find I’ll always have a soft spot for ICC (and WoTLK content in general I suppose) mainly because of those amazing guys and gals I played with.

 

5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?

My favourite aspect in WoW would most likely be ‘leveling projects’, I think, in which I always have an alt to fall back on to level with (I have a really bad case of altitis xD). I’m the type that can get easily burnt out/scared off by too much socialization–LFR and dungeons mainly, where I reach a point of sheer burn-out, or just stress. Having an alt to go level on, solely by myself (unless I choose to throw myself into LFD) is comforting, and I like knowing I always have something to do, even when my main is as complete as I can reasonably get her. I think I’ve been like this for most of my time in WoW (I’ve had altitis for as long as I can remember), but I don’t think I ever recognized it for what it was till this particular expansion.

(And I’ll also note: when I was playing GW1, I pretty much got stuck at level 19 or so because I couldn’t physically progress any further, at least playing solo with a party of mercenary NPCs, and it was intensely frustrating. A lot of people poop on how ‘faceroll’ leveling is, but getting stuck at X level and needing a party to progress isn’t particularly fun either xD)

 

6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?

Every time I go to level an alt, I always do Icecrown, even if I could feasibly finish leveling to 80 in another zone, or in dungeons. I’ll forever be in love with that zone–the landscape, the music, the quests (especially Bridenbrad’s questline, that makes me cry every time and I make it a point to do it on every character), the lore…I always find myself back there at 77/78 to finish my Northrend questing off.

I always crey, every time :x
I always crey, every time :x

 

7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?

It’s a bit hard for me to get an accurate /played, considering I jumped from US to EU servers, but for the record, I’ve been playing since Christmas 2006, and fairly continuously. I think the longest ‘break’ I’ve taken is about 3 months? (the one I took earlier this year, actually)

 

8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?

This entirely depends on if I’m questing with someone or not xD If I’m by myself, and it’s a quest/zone I’m not familiar with, I’ll ghost over the quest text (I’m a fast reader!). If it’s one I’ve done a few times before and I’m more familiar with the quest requirements/lore of the zone, I’ll just grab and dash.

If I’m with other people, I almost exclusively skip it, just because I don’t want to hold anyone up whilst I’m reading.

 

9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?

Not being awesome enough to get Dragonwrath, Tarecgosa’s Rest–it would of been perfect for my mage, and I probably would of sold my soul to the Burning Legion for it xD Alas, I wasn’t (and still am not) nearly leet enough to get anything like that, so it will be a Forever Regret of my gaming career.

 

10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?

Hands down, it’s been the friends I’ve met who I’m still extremely close to outside of the game. I joined an amazing guild during Wrath (Ebon Phoenix) and made a number of good, close friends who, even after they left the game (boredom, life changes, etc), I’m still in contact with via FB, or twitter. Sure, I might not have met any of them IRL (many of them are scattered about the UK/EU), but I consider them just as good friends as I would anyone face-to-face; these are people who have let me into their lives, and I’ve let them into mine, and we’ve forged amazing relationships outside of the game itself :D

have a random dancing blood elf hunter. because of reasons xD
have a random dancing blood elf hunter. because of reasons xD

Leave a Reply

