Once More Unto the Breach, Dear Friends, Once More

[Content note: I’ll take this opportunity to excuse my fairly long absence from this space. In August, my main PC kinda died; we’re 99% certain it’s a motherboard meltdown, and have been struggling to replace it since then, so I was without my own computer for a few months. I took that time as a break from WoW as well, since I was once again feeling burnt out. Last month I was able to get a reasonably priced PC to replace my old one for the time being, and I was able (and willing) to come back to Warcraft. Just wanted to throw it out into the nether, in case anyone was curious.]

As I write this, it is exactly a week until Warlords of Draenor releases. This time next week I should be patched up, and fingers crossed servers are stable (as of right now, in the EU…they’re not, to put it mildly). To say I’m well and truly ready is an understatement of sorts; I’m somewhere in the camp of ‘I don’t think MoP was horrible, but it’s been around for far too long’, and I’m able to tell I’m more bored than dissatisfied with this expansion. It was great in many ways (Pandaren are adorable), and kinda poop in many ways (I’m looking at you, gated dailies/rep/valor upgrades, those were terribad). I got this way with Cataclysm as well, and to an extent Wrath, and once I put some distance between myself and MoP, I’m sure I’ll be able to look at its content in a hazy, nostalgic, rose-coloured glasses sort of way.

But for the time being, I won’t be particularly heartbroken to leave Pandaria (at least until I level my next alt). I feel I’ve done just about everything I can feasibly do with the current content, considering I don’t raid with a guild or get too terribly involved in PvP. Much of the last…six months or so, I’d wager, has been on and off faffing (between breaks, of course). I can look back, as we look forward to WoD and say I accomplished much of the tentative ‘to do’ list I had in my brain. I got my mage Alyzabeth as far as I reasonably could; the only part that still bothers me is I was never able to get an upgrade on her gloves (they’re ToT knock-offs), but she’s sitting at ilvl 556, and that’s not too shabby. I’m happy. My alts are in a reasonably good-ish place, though I’m not stressing about their gear–it is what it is, and I’m sure I’ll find replacements in WoD. I got a full server of 90s; my last straggler, Spindlelegs, got 90 a few weeks back, and that makes 11 fully-functioning farms on Hellscream. I wasn’t quite able to finish getting off the MoP-era mounts I still need (namely the 120k Tundra Yak and the two engineering rockets), but I know I can go back to those once I’ve gotten properly stuck into WoD content.

That said, the next week is COMPLETE faffing around these parts. I have no definite plans, no Must Do list. The best laid plans and all that (I know I sound like a broken record, but it’s true–me and plans/commitments don’t really get along). I have managed to knock off a few things I’ve been meaning to do for literal ages, but kept being lazy about:

  • Finally managed to kill Sartharion & Malygos (25m) for my Champion of the Frozen Wastes title. Yes, I know this achievement is as old as the Titans, but I just never quite managed to complete it. Once I saw I only needed two bosses, I felt like somewhat of a dork and decided to finish it off.
  • Also managed to finish the Wrath-era dungeon achievements (namely, Occulus) to get my Red Proto Drake. Another thing I got super super close to finishing it off whilst it was current, but then got away from me over time.
  • Got a shed load of easy achievements out of Wrath and Cataclysm era raid material whilst trying to get easy money/cloth/items to disenchant for bags. If you’re sensing a trend here, it’s that I didn’t do much raid content before LFR was invented.

I’ll probably do more dungeon/raid crawling now that servers have reset for more gold and (possible) mount drops. I’d love to get to an even 200k gold on Hellscream before next Wednesday, but I won’t sweat it if I’m a bit short. I’m also grinding away at leveling another set of rare pets up to 25 so I have more flexibility (family wise) against various trainers; I’ve majorly slacked on my pets this expansion, and for some reason I have the urge to tidy that up while I have nothing else super pressing on my schedule. I’m quite close, and if I pull my finger out, I should be able to tick that off my bucket list before WoD.

Between Warlords, and the 10th anniversary celebrations later this month, and Blizzcon this weekend, it’s going to be a very exciting month for yours truly, and I’m desperately looking forward to the influx of new content to get tucked into. My mage is super thirsty for some leveling–she wasn’t born to be a farmer, and I’m eager to see how well she plays in proper leveling content after all the class changes in 6.0.2.

It’s exciting to be able to share this collective experience with so many people. Sure, I don’t personally know any of you face-to-face, but we share the Warcraft experience. So much of the community can be harsh, and toxic, but I’ve found some amazing people in the 8-ish years I’ve been playing, and feeling the proverbial buzz from so many people…I kinda can’t help but get carried along with it.

If you need me anytime between now and next Wednesday, I’ll be over here in the corner, brushing up on my frost spells and doing a right proper clear-out. I look forward to seeing you all beyond the Dark Portal–the Iron Horde doesn’t stand a chance with us around ;D

see you on the other side (yes, this was taken before 6.0, it's all red and icky now)
see you on the other side (yes, this was taken before 6.0, I know it’s red now x.x)
Leave a Reply

